About North Wales

North Wales is an electoral region of the National Assembly for Wales, consisting of nine constituencies. The Constituencies are Aberconwy, Alyn & Deeside, Arfon, Clwyd South, Clwyd West, Delyn, Vale of Clwyd, Wrexham and Ynys Môn.

The region is a mix of rural and urban areas, with the population higher in the east, where the region's largest town, Wrexham is. The western areas, including the Isle of Anglesey (Ynys Mon), are largely rural. Although Anglesey and Gwynedd are home to large numbers of Welsh speakers, the language is not widely spoken in the north-east.